Welcome to VidyaCast.

Do you know what is Level of development? Also known as LOD. It is an industry standard for multi-level 3D refinement.

Each level represents a phase of the project’s construction and refinement from design to operation, among other important metrics such as scheduling, animation, and field performance.

There are 6 levels of development and they are:

LOD 100 – Design

The first level is linked to the project design phase. At this level, a Gross 3D representation of the project with geolocation, area, volume and height data of the model is established.

LOD 200 – Schematic Model

This level of modeling brings data a little more representative to 3D visualization. In addition to quantitative data closer to reality such as orientation, size, shapes. It is also at this stage that other types of data that are not necessarily related to the 3D model are linked to the model.

LOD 300 – Detailing

The third level of detail already presents more detailed graphic details, faithfully representing the project in terms of size, area, general dimensions and data not linked to the 3D model. This level is the last in the design phase.

LOD 350 – Documentation

This level of detail will be responsible for organizing all the elements of the 3D model and processing their interaction with different systems and elements graphically.

LOD 400 – Manufacturing

At this level of detail, the construction phase of the project takes place. This level contains all documentation, schedules, and specifications necessary to manufacture the model elements.

LOD 500 – Construction

The last level of detail brings the entire set of information gathered in the previous levels with the addition of costs and project execution.

These various levels of detail are used in BIM models, but can also be linked to Digital Twin models.

If you want to learn more about us, please access our website, follow us on LinkedIn and subscribe to our youtube channel!